Portugal Open. Matt Wallace Wins Maiden European Tour Title.

White Dragon Golf

Matt Wallace wins the Portugal Open, his maiden European Tour title, at Morgado Golf Resort in Portugal.

Portugal Open

Matt Wallace / getty

Matt, from England, carded a last round -4 under par 69 to claim his first win on the European Tour, the Portugal Open, with a -21 under par total, making his dream come true;

“It’s the best feeling ever, it’s always been a dream to win on the European Tour.”
 
“Those first two days were really easy, that third day was the hardest day of my life and today was tough but it’s so satisfying and I’m really happy.”
 
“A good friend of mine, Tom Lewis, won here in Portugal and I spoke to him yesterday and he has great memories here and I’m going to as well.”
“I didn’t see it coming, I never envisioned standing here, I just tried to go through my processes and work as hard as I could to be standing here today.”
 
“I’ll have a few beers.”
Julian Suri, U.S.A.  shot a fantastic finale round -8 under par 65 to climb up the leaderboard and claim second place at -18 under par, with good putting making the difference;

​”I got off to a great start”

“I was really starting to trust my putting by the end of that practice time and it just carried over into my front nine.”

“Putting was the difference for me today. It definitely wasn’t my best ball striking day. Being able to trust my stroke inside ten or 12 feet, because out here you will have so many of those putts, that definitely made the difference.”

Matthieu Pavon, France, was in third place at -16 under par, with a closing round of -4 under 69 with his putter being quiet on the back nine;

“It was a pretty good round I played. I didn’t hole that many putts but it was okay.”

“I made a good birdie on the ninth and tenth but after the back nine was a little bit quiet. I’m pretty happy for this week.” 

“Everything was pretty good, this is the week I was waiting for so now I’m going to go forward and try to keep the same feelings.” 
 
“When I was on the Alps Tour I won a tournament from five back on the last day. I started well, I had my chance, but too quiet with my putter on the back nine.”

 

Leave a Reply

