Kingsmill Championship. Lexi Thompson Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Great to see Lexi Thompson as she leads the Kingsmill Championship on the River Course.

Kingsmill Championship

Lexi

Lexi shot a first round -6 under par 65 to lead the Kingsmill Championship by  one shot;

“The second nine was pretty crazy, I hit some great shots and rolled a few good putts, so definitely helps out my confidence.”

“It’s just a tournament that I love to come back to. That always helps out, coming into the tournament that you want to play well in and you always look forward to coming to this venue, it helps out with the positive attitude.”

“But I get to hit a lot of drivers and three woods which helps out a lot. It’s a ball-striking golf course.”

Gerina Piller, Brittany Lincicome and Angel Yin share second place, just one shot back at -5 under par, following their opening rounds of 66;

Gerina is looking forward to tomorrow;

“It’s always good to get off to that kind of start and get comfortable.”

“The greens are rolling phenomenal. The course is in the best shape I’ve ever seen it.”

“Just happy to be under par and looking forward to tomorrow.”

Brittany said she made some good putts;

“You know, a little bit of everything. Didn’t feel like I was driving it very well, but made a couple really good putts and my iron shots were really good.”

 “You know, I kept it in play, which was nice. But if I can keep three more rounds like that, I would be very happy.”

Angel was making a lot of good putts;

“I feel great. It’s a solid first round.”

“Made a lot of great up and downs on the front nine.  I wasn’t hitting that many greens, but I was making those putts.”

World number one Lydia Ko is in a three way tie for fifth place after her first round -3 under par 67.

Leave a Reply

