Rocco Forte Open. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

There are two players tied at the top of the Rocco Forte OpenSebastian Soderberg, Sweden,and Michael Hoey, Northern Ireland, both shot opening rounds of 61  at Verdura Golf Club, in Sicily.

Rocco Forte Open

Michael Hoey / getty

Both Sebastian and Michael shot -10 under par 61 to lead the Rocco Forte Open by one shot after the first round in Sicily.

Michael left a couple of putts short in his bogey free best ever round;

“I left it in the jaws, both putts, but I was nervous.”

“It was hard to hit them past the hole but it’s nice to be nervous because I haven’t been nervous on a golf course for quite a while and it’s exciting to be such a good score.”

“My best ever score by two shots, no bogeys, doesn’t get much better.”

Sebastian was thinking of a 59 he too had two putts that could have gone in;

“That 59 was all I thought about walking down the par five 12th.”

“For me it kind of helped me to help keep me going, I didn’t feel like it stopped me.”

“I definitely had a couple of putts the last seven holes that could have run in. Overall, great round.”

“So far this season it hasn’t been quite good. Thankfully most of the pieces fell together today. It was a really good day.”

Zander Lombard, South Africa, was just one shot off the lead at -9 under par following his opening effort of 62.

Leave a Reply

