The Rocco Forte Open. Alvaro Way Ahead.

White Dragon Golf

Alvaro Quiros, Spain, is way ahead after 54 holes of The Rocco Forte Open, and will take a five shot lead into the final round tomorrow in Sicily.

The Rocco Forte Open

Alvaro Quiros / getty

Alvaro carded -1 under par 70 in the high winds of the third round of The Rocco Forte Open, but no one could catch him, as he posted a -16 under par total.

He said he was lucky that the wind did not affect his good putting;

“Today was the worst golfing day for me, from the tee I was more irregular than normal but I played with the same intentions, trying to fight until the final hole and I’ve been putting well too.”

“Today it was really difficult to putt, the wind was blowing crazy strong and on the greens the perception was always changing with the intensity of this wind. I’m happy with where I am right now.”

“Golf is a very difficult game, you never know what’s around the corner.”

“I’ve been very lucky this week. If I’m not mistaken, I haven’t had a single unplayable ball and that’s a very lucky thing in these windy conditions.”

“If my game stays more or less where it is and I keep putting like I am, I’m going to have chances up until the end.”

Five shots back in second place is Zander Lombard, from South Africa, who battled to score +1 over par 72 today, for a tournament total of -11 under par.

In third place are local favorite Renato Paratore, Italy -1 under 70 today  and Pep AnglesSpain, with a great -3 under 68 in the difficult conditions.

Leave a Reply

