Memorial Tournament. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golfthe Memorial Tournament

There are two players tied at the top of the Memorial Tournament leaderboard after round 1 at Muirfield Village, Jason Dufner and David Lingmerth.

Jason Dufner had a solid day at the office Thursday, hitting 17 greens in regulation and making 8 birdies. (Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

Jason Dufner / getty

Jason and David both opened at the Memorial Tournament with rounds of -7 under par 65, to lead the competition by one shot.

Jason is looking to put four good rounds together here, it is all about his breathing;

“I can put a couple of rounds together here.”

 “But I’m looking for more than that this week. Hopefully, we can keep it going for four.”

“It’s been working, it’s been working all year.”

“Some days I do it better than others. Today, I was really focused on it.”

David won here two years ago

“Obviously, having won here it brings back good memories.”

“And the other years I’ve played here, I’ve always loved it.”

“I haven’t really contended all the way until Sunday those other years, but I’ve always felt good about this place.”

“I feel confident out here. I roll the ball really well on the greens.”

Third place is occupied by Jordan Spieth and Daniel Summerhays, both at -6 under par 66 today.

Jordan was feeling good all day;

“I felt like I scored the way I played today.”

“I got an awesome break on my third hole today, No. 12. I didn’t have much of a chance to stop the bunker shot unless it hit the pin and it dunked.”

“That saved me a couple of shots. I figured it could be a good day when your off shots you’re making birdie on.”

Leave a Reply

