Memorial Tournament. Jason Had A Duff 3rd Round, But He Recovered To Win.

White Dragon Golfthe Memorial Tournament

Jason Dufner may have had a duff 3rd round, but he recovered to win the Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village.

Jason Dufner seals win in dramatic fashion at the Memorial

Jason and Jack Nicklaus / getty

Jason carded a final round, after weather delays, of -4 under par 68 to pick up the Memorial Tournament trophy from Jack Nicklaus.

After that 3rd round 77 Jason had dinner with Rickie Fowler, Jordan Spieth and Justin Thomas, just to unwind;

“I didn’t want to leave the course angry.”

“I think it was good for me, here’s been times where I’ve kind of gone; fallen in and out of love with golf, to be honest with you, as a professional.”

“It was good to be around those guys, they’re excited. They’re passionate. They’re working hard at it. They want to play good. They’re hungry.”

“They want to win tournaments.”

“I’ve always been a fighter, especially since I’ve turned professional.”

 “Doing this hasn’t come easy for me. There’s been a lot of struggles and a lot of setbacks.”

“I didn’t come straight out of college and play the PGA Tour.”

“It took me almost ten years to get out here. Took me another two after that to win and actually get to where I felt comfortable.”

Anirban Lahiri, India,  -7 under 65 today, and Rickie Fowler, -2 under 70, were tied in second place at -10 under par. Unfortunately for Anirban the second place finish did not qualify him for the U.S. Open.

Rickie said it was matchplay between him and Jason at the end, and the putting counted;

“It comes down to somewhat match play at that point.”

“You expect your opponent to make the putt. But from 30 feet there on the last hole, that was a pretty solid putt.”

“To see it go in, he earned it, making a birdie on 17. And he got the job done.”

Anirban decided to relax this week and enjoy his golf;

“I’ve been pretty harsh on myself. I’ve beat myself up pretty bad, and coming into this week I just decided to be nice to myself and go out there and enjoy my golf, which I found wasn’t happening as often as it should.”

“I think I putted really well. And that’s been probably the scratchy part of my game. “

“Once I got that confidence, I wasn’t putting that much pressure on myself to hit it every time.”

Leave a Reply

