ShopRite LPGA Classic. I.K. Kim Wins.

White Dragon Golf

I.K. Kim, South Korea, wins the ShopRite LPGA Classic  on the Bay Course at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club in New Jersey.

ShopRite LPGA Classic

I.K. Kim / getty

I.K. shot a final round -2 under par 69 to win the ShopRite LPGA Classic with a -11 under par total, a two shot winning margin. This I.K. Kim’s fifth LPGA Title.

I.K.  spent the best part of the end of 2016 season and beginning of 2017 recovering from falling down the stairs, and did not expect to play so well;

“I really didn’t expect to win right away, but I knew my game was better than last year.”

“My trainer, my coach, they had to change so many plans for me because so many things happened last winter. But I just feel so good and I feel all the support.”

“It was just so windy, trying to keep it in play was tough.”   

Defending Champion Anna Nordqvist from Sweden put up a great defence of her title, and attempting a three-peat at  this event, finishing in second place at -9 under par, two shots back with her last round -2 under 69;

“Just having the honor to back-to-back defend is quite amazing.”

“I’ve had a lot of supporters cheering me on this week and I really appreciated everyone’s support.”

“There is a little bit of pressure coming into it, but it’s just been fun.”

Tied in third place were, Michelle Wie, -6 under 65, Jenny Shin, -2 under 69, Jacqui Concolino, -1 under 70 and Jeong Eun Lee, even par 71 today, all finished with -7  under par totals.

Michelle said she had played well today;

“I just stuck it in there close today, I hit it a lot closer today, which felt good.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

