Lyoness Open. Felipe Flying at the Top.

White Dragon GolfLogo

Felipe Aguilar, from Chile, is flying high at the top of the Lyoness Open leaderboard after 36 holes at Diamond Country Club in Austria.

Lyoness Open

Felipe Aguilar / getty

Felipe signed for second round of -2 under par 70 to stay ahead of the field at the Lyoness Open, still leading by two shots, saying in interview that his putting is much better;

“I have been playing better but I haven’t been able to score. My putting is better, especially my irons and off the tee.”

“It was very difficult after five holes, the wind really picked up, the greens are getting hard and it is difficult to get it close and you have to calculate every time ten yards short, especially if you miss the fairway.” 

“So it was very difficult and unfortunately I finished with a bogey but overall it was a pretty good round. You are going to make some mistakes today but you just have to make sure you make some birdies as well.”

Graeme Storm, England, is in second place at -7 under par, a second round -3 under par keeping him in touch with the leader. He mentioned the windy conditions, saying he needed a little bit of luck on the day;

“It was really difficult out there. The wind was really blustery and the fairways are really firming up and so are the greens.

“I struggled a little bit again today, I don’t feel as though I am swinging it correctly or hitting the ball great.” 

“I am just trying my best to get round and managing to put a score together, and getting a little bit of luck as well.”

Johan Carlsson, Sweden, -1 under 71 today, and Oliver Fisher, England, -3 under 69, are tied in third place at -6 under par.

In the group at -5 under for the competition is David Horsey of England who equaled the course record today, -8 under par 64, and was happy with his putter;

“I played lovely out there.”

“I putted nicely, maybe could have holed a couple more towards the end but on the whole 64 in those conditions I will take every day.” 

Leave a Reply

