Lyoness Open. Felipe Heading For Wire to Wire Win

White Dragon GolfLogo

Felipe Aguilar is heading towards a wire to wire win at the Lyoness Open at  Diamond Country Club in Austria.

Lyoness Open

Felipe Aguilar / getty

Felipe, from Chile, maintained his two-stroke lead in the Lyoness Open after 54 holes, despite only carding a third round of even par 72, saying he missed birdie putts on the greens;

“Today I think I left many shots on the golf course. “

“I played quite well and I missed a couple of greens, which is normal, and several putts I missed for birdie, so it could have been a little bit better but I’m still in contention.”

“I think on the greens I left a couple of shots out there that could have made a huge difference for tomorrow and hopefully tomorrow they will go in.”

 

Tied in second place are, Johan Carlsson, Sweden, -1 under 71 today, Dylan Frittelli, South Africa, -4 under 68, and Sepp Straka, a local boy from Austria with -2 under 70 in his third round, they are all at -7 under par for the tournament.

Johan made some good putts today, including a 5 ft left to right tough downhill one;

“I hit a great shot in on 17, a four-iron up to five feet and then a pretty tough downhill putt from right-to-left that I made and that was a big putt.”

“I just need to keep playing well. You have to stay patient and let the birdies come to you instead of chasing too much I think because then it’s easier to get down on yourself, so I think just stay patient and not chase too much.”

Dylan is looking forward to the challenge of the final round;

“I’m pretty pleased with how I played today.”

“I have had some experience this year of playing in the last few groups so hopefully that will translate into a good performance tomorrow so I’m looking forward to it.”

Sepp is trying to make something happen with the putter;

“I’ve got to keep trying to put it into good positions, execute my game plan and try and make some putts from there.”

“Overall it was pretty good, I didn’t hit the ball as well as I have been but I really managed my game well again today.”

Leave a Reply

