Manulife LPGA Classic. Lexi Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Lexi Thompson leads the Manulife LPGA Classic after 54 holes at Whistle Bear Golf Club in Canada.

Manulife LPGA Classic

Lexi Thompson / getty

Lexi shot a bogey free -5 under par 67 in very windy conditions to top the Manulife LPGA Classic leaderboard with a -17 under par total, and will take a one shot advantage into the final round tomorrow.

Lexi said she had putted very well in the windy conditions;

“Today was a lot windier than the last two days, so there was just more shot-making and some pins were pretty difficult to get to.”

“It was more just making pars and getting off the hole.”

“I’m playing very well and making some good putts, so hopefully just continue that tomorrow.”

“There are a lot of cross winds you have to aim way right or way left and just trust that it’ll come back into the fairway.”

“Hearing the cheers is always nice, the fans are great out here, so hopefully get a lot more tomorrow.”

Lindy Duncan, -5 under 67 today, is in second place with a -16 under par tournament total and likes this course, and also going to bed early;

“I’m just going to do the same thing I’ve been doing: eat dinner and go to bed early.”

“The golf course suits my eye.”

In Gee Chun holds third place at -15 under par, she carded -4 under 68 today to keep in touch with the leader.

Ariya Jutanugarn, who is challenging for the world number slot is tied in fourth place at -14 under par with local favorite Alena Sharp.

Ariya returned a -7  under 65 today, and Alena -2 under 70, at -14 under par they are only three shots back of the leader.

Ariya did not mention pushing for the number one slot, but did say her putter was the key today;

“I didn’t hit my tee shots that good, but I think my putter helped me a lot today.”

Jackie Stoelting had the low round of the day -8 under 64, while defending champion Caroline Masson got a hole in one.

Jackie was glad to have another made cut;

“It was an awesome day, this was my fourth made cut in a row, but the last three cuts I’ve moved the opposite direction on Saturday.”

“I really tried to play more aggressively today.”

“Caroline watched her tee shot roll in, but said none of her putts did today, she is currently back at -7 under for the competition

“It was fun. I didn’t have a lot going for me today, no putts went in.”

 “I hit it good, kind of where I wanted to, and watched it release a little bit as we started walking and it disappeared. I’m glad we saw it disappear.”

Leave a Reply

