Meijer LPGA Classic, Brooke Breaks Away from the Field.

White Dragon Golf

Brooke Henderson, from Canada, breaks away from the field in the opening round of the Meijer LPGA Classic.

Meijer LPGA Classic

Brooke Henderson / getty

Brooke fired a bogey free  opening round -8 under par 63 to top the Meijer LPGA Classic leaderboard by one shot.

Brooke just knew today was going to be good, even the putts were dropping;

“I felt like today was going to be a really good day.”

“Everything was just kind of going my way.”

“I was hitting the ball really well and some putts were dropping, which is kind of a change from the last few weeks.”

“I made a lot of putts, which is great, and I feel like my game is in a really good place.”

“I’m really looking forward to the next three days and hopefully I can continue the strong play.”

Six ladies are tied in second place at -7 under par after their first rounds of 64: Stacey Lewis, Lexi Thompson. Shanshan Feng, Jennifer Ha, Giulia Molinaro, and Holly Clyburn.

Lexi likes this course;

“This is definitely a great layout for my game.”

Jennifer, from Canada, had a great day with her putter;

“I thought my ball-striking was pretty good today, but my putting, I made most of my chances.”

“I missed the last one on the last hole, but still, seven under is great.”

“I would say putting is very important this week because the greens, some of the greens are pretty hilly so you have to get the right read and the right speed at the same time.”

Newly deposed world number one Lydia Ko is in the group at -6 under par, just two back;

“I think the three weeks were really good to just rest both physically and mentally.”

“There were a lot of things going on, so it was nice to just get away from it.”

“But I did miss it and it’s definitely nice to be able to come back.”

 

Leave a Reply

