U.S. Open. 4 Way Tie at the Top.

White Dragon GolfU.S. Open

Thee is a 4 way tie at the top of the U.S. Open leaderboard after 36 holes at Erin Hills Golf Course. Paul Casey and Tommy Fleetwood of England, share the honor with Brooks Koepka and Brian Harman, U.S.A. all at -7 under par.

U.S. Open

Paul Casey / getty

Paul managed to card an eight at the par five 14th hole on his way to signing for a -1 under par 71 in the second round of the U.S. Open;

“Not every day you enjoy a round of golf with an 8 on the card, but I’m a pretty happy man.”

“Yeah, it was a bit of a roller coaster. I guess it’s rare you get through a U.S. Open or any major without some kind of a hiccup.”

“I was upset with the score I had made, but it had, in no way, any effect on my attitude or how I was going to then approach the rest of the round or the next shot.”

“Part of that is just age, and part I’ll give credit to Johnny McLaren, credit to my wife and my little boy.”

Brooks, -2 under 70 today, said he had stayed calm;

“I’d say I was calm. I mean it doesn’t really get me too worked up, whatever happens, bogey, double, birdie, eagle, I mean I’m pretty chill anyway.”

Tommy has put his resurgence down to good coaching, and his best mate;

“I went back to my old coach and had one of my best mates caddieing, and I think that can’t be underestimated having your friend with you.”

“Tomorrow will be a very cool experience. It’s still Saturday, 36 holes is a very long time in a U.S. Open. Anything can happen.”

“No matter what that’s something when you’re always going to walk up the 18th green with your best mate.”

Brian is happy to be where he’s at;

“I have no expectations. I have no idea how the weekend is going to go, no one does.”

“For me, if I can just stay where I am, just keep doing what I’m doing, I’ll have a chance.”

Three players are tied in fifth place , one shot back at -6 under. First round leader Rickie Fowler  went into reverse today, with  second round +1 over par 73, he shares with J.B. Holmes, -3 under 69 today, and Jamie Lovemark also -3 under today.

Rickie told reporters he was in a good spot;

“We’re in a good spot, looking forward to the next two days.”

Missing the cut, the top three in the world, Dustin Johnson, Rory McIlroy and Jason Day.

U.S. Open

Rory & Jason getty

They were joined in the exit lounge by Daniel Berger, Masters champions Bubba Watson, Adam Scott, and 2016 Major winners Jimmy Walker and Henrik Stenson.

Other names on the missing in action list are; Billy Horschel, Jason Dufner, and Jon Rahm, the Spaniard totally exploded with a F word assault on the ears of TV viewers and course spectators;

“I’ve always been criticized for it, I don’t know what to say. I feel bad when I react sometimes, but it’s something I can’t control.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

