Meijer LPGA Classic. Brooke Henderson Wins

White Dragon Golf

Brooke Henderson, from Canadawins the Meijer LPGA Classic, her first win of 2017.

Meijer LPGA Classic

Brooke & Trophy                          

Brooke carded a -3 under par 66, on the shortened course, to post a Meijer LPGA Classic total of -17 under par, a two shot winning margin.

Brooke was excited to win, saying her good putting under pressure was the key to victory;

“Just super excited right now.”

 “I played really steady golf today, and that putt on No.16 was really huge.”

“Especially looking back now, it’s even bigger than what I thought it was.”

“It’s really cool to be able to make those putts under pressure.”

“The leaderboard is packed. There are so many great names up there, so to finish on top is really exciting.”

“It was really tough today. To shoot 3-under and I don’t think I had any bogeys today either, which was great.”

“The wind really picked up. I was kind of surprised when I looked at the leaderboard and I had a two-shot lead on the 18th green.”

 “Super happy and I’m just glad it’s done and I finally have my fourth win.”

Sharing second place at -15 under par were Lexi Thompson, even par 69 today, and Michelle Wie, – 4 under 65, both ladies from the USA.

Michelle explained just how tough the conditions were, including the wind;

“It was tough out there, the wind just started blowing and it was just interesting.”

“Some spots are really wet, some spots are dry, but overall I felt like I played good this week and I’m happy about it.”

Lexi, coming in second again this week, spoke about the depth of talent on the LPGA Tour;

“It’s such a global tour, so it doesn’t really matter where you’re from, it’s what you bring to the table.”

 “You never know who’s going to win when you tee it up, so you just have to hope it’s you.”

Leave a Reply

