BMW International Open. Wade Ormsby Leads.

White Dragon GolfBMW Int

Wade Ormsby, of Australia, leads the BMW International Open at  Golfclub München Eichenried in Germany.

BMW International Open

Wade Ormsby / getty

Wade fired a first round -8 under par 64 to lead the BMW International Open by one shot;

“I had a fast start out there, turned in 30 on the front nine, and then kind of kept it going on the back.”

 “A bit steadier on the back but very happy.”

“We actually came here this morning to practice early which I’ve never done before, I just knew there was something there and I wasn’t getting what I wanted.”

“I obviously found something today and I just kept on working what we’re trying to work on, which isn’t normally me, I play by feel.”

In second place at -7 under, is Thomas Detry, from Belgium, he carded an opening round 65.

Tied in third place at -6 under are,  Sergio Garcia, SpainThorbjørn Olesen, Denmark and Joost Luiten, Holland.

Sergio, bogey free today, is  playing his first regular European Tour event since winning his first Major Championship at Augusta National, and said he had played and putted well today;

“It was great, I felt like I played quite well, not spectacular, but very consistent throughout the whole day.”

“I was very happy to see some of the shots I hit and some of the putts I made and very happy with my six under.”

“There’s still three more to go, so we’re going to keep playing hard and hopefully we’ll have some more like this and we’ll be up there on Sunday.”

Leave a Reply

