Travelers Championship. Jordan Speith Shines,

White Dragon GolfTravelers Championship

Jordan Spieth shines at the Travelers Championship by topping the leaderboard after round one at  TPC River Highlands.

Spieth shines in Travelers debut

Jordan / getty

Jordan made birdie at the last to post -7 under par  63 and top the Travelers Championship leaderboard by one stroke.

A 15 ft birdie putt at the first hole set Jordan on his way, feeling good about his putter;

“That one going in on the first was big for me, and then I made one on the fourth that was a putt that required a lot of precision, kind of a right-edge putt.”

“If you get it started outside it misses, inside it could break off, and I thought when that one went in is when I really started to feel good with the putter.”

Johnson Wagner and Brett Stegmaier share second place, one shot back at -6 under par after their opening rounds of 64.

Johnson played his first PGA Tour event here, and likes this course, he even shaved his mustache to come here;

“I think I missed maybe seven of eight cuts with it, so something had to change.”

“This was really the first PGA TOUR event I ever came to.”

“Man, it’s been a while since I’ve been in the red like this.”

“It feels really good.”

“I know how quickly things can turn around.”

Brett is from nearby Madison, Connecticut,

“Came in with really low expectations today, I think that certainly helps play a good round, stress-free.”

“It feels great, it’s been a rough year, obviously. Just nice to take another step in the right direction.”

“It’s been coming together the last couple months even though the results haven’t really shown it. To shoot a really low round is a big confidence boost.”

Rory McIlroy was disappointed with his -3 under 67, needing 30 putts today, leaving him T 19, maybe a White Dragon Putter would suit him better;

“I feel like I could have been at least three or four better.”

“I think I hit five or six putts out there that hit the hole and didn’t go in.”

Just about staying patient. I know the game’s there. Feeling good. My tee-to-green game is right where it needs to be.”

Leave a Reply

