Travelers Championship. Jordan Still In Control at Half-Way.

White Dragon GolfTravelers Championship

Jordan Spieth is still in control of the Travelers Championship at the half-way point at  TPC River Highlands.Spieth holds lead at Travelers

Jordan / getty

Jordan carded a second round -1 under par 69, but it kept him on top of the Travelers Championship leaderboard with a -8 under par total.

It was not a great day for Jordan, but some great par saving putts helped him out, one  from 35 ft at the third hole and another from 8 ft on 12;

“By comparing it to the way I’ve struck the ball the past four or five months, it was an off day, but it was still solid.”

 “I wouldn’t say I played my B-game. I’ve been playing pretty solid golf.”

“It’s just, hitting more greens. The ones I missed, I didn’t really need to miss. I was trying to do too much.”

“That’s kind of what gets me in trouble on a course like this.”

“Being very patient on the weekend is key. I always mention that, that’s always the word. I try to tell myself that, and sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.”

Troy Merritt, -2 under 68 today and Patrick Reed, -4 under 66, share second place, one shot back at -7 under par.

Rory McIlroy went into reverse today, signing for +3 over par 73, only making the cut on the number. Seems his driving is OK, longest in the field, one at 393 yards, which was a good 40 yards clear of everyone else. He went on to make par from there, which shows the weakness, solid driving but no scoring to back it up.

Leave a Reply

