Walmart NW Arkansas Championship. Rookie Sung Hyun Park Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Rookie Sung Hyun Park, from South Korea, leads the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship after the completion of a weather delayed round one at  Pinnacle Country Club.

Walmart NW Arkansas Championship

Sung Hyun Park / getty

Sung Hyun carded a first round -8 under par 63, which included a bogey, to lead the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship, in Arkansas.

Sung Hyun said afterwards that her putting really put her in control, needing only 24 putts on the day;

“My play was best with putter today, very good,”

Another rookie Mel Reid, England, shares second place with Ally McDonald. USA, and So Yeon Ryu from South Korea, all at -6 under par 65, two shots off the pace.

Ally was happy to have her family supporting her today;

“Means a lot. There are few places that my family can get to with the schedule and with my grandparents wanting to watch me.”

“I’m happy they could all be here, and hopefully I can play well for them.”

Mel  made birdie on five of her first seven holes, threw in a hole in one at the par three 11th, but sadly recorded two bogey’s on the way in. She explained her hole in one;

“I mean, as soon as I hit it I thought, oh, it’s got a chance.”

 “I just hit a little 9-iron, so I think it was 135. I just tried to play a 130 shot and it pitched about seven behind it and came back.”

So Yeon Ryu was smooth and bogey free all day, and her putting came back;

“I think everything was really smooth from start to end.”

“Especially I was happy with my putting because last time when I played a tournament, I was really struggling with my putting.”

 “It feels great to be back and hopefully I can have a really great bogey-free round again.”

Leave a Reply

