Walmart NW Arkansas Championship. So Yeon Streaks Ahead.

White Dragon Golf

So Yeon Ryu, South Korea, streaks ahead of the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship field in the second round at Pinnacle Country Club.

 Walmart NW Arkansas Championship

So Yeon Ryu / getty

So Yeon fired a second round -10 under par 61 to post a -16 under par Walmart NW Arkansas Championship total, and will take a five shot advantage into the final round tomorrow, in this three round event, and was obviously very happy;

“It was so much fun,.”

“I made a really long putt at 8, 17, and then I boost up and the shot was getting better and better.”

“At the back nine, I was able to make some more short birdies, and then pretty much made all of them. So happy with my round today.” 

“I think after you shot like, six under and ten under and next round going to be really tough because no matter how well you play, it’s not going to be great enough compared to ten under and six under.”

Nearest challengers are Stacy Lewis, USA, and Moriya Jutanugarn, Thailand, both ladies had -6 under rounds of 65 and share second place at -11 under par.

Moriya, sister of world number one Ariya, will not be under any stress tomorrow, she just wants to have fun;

“I’m pretty sure all the fans are wanting to go out and see us making birdies, and it’s great.”

“You know, she is a great player, and of course she can have a really good day.”

“It’s not like any stress or anything, just trying to have fun and play my game.”

Local girl Stacy got a loud cheer from the fans after making a long birdie putt on the final hole today;

“That’s kinda why you play, for those moments. I’m just glad I could give the fans a birdie and give ’em something to cheer for.”

 “Kinda felt like I was struggling a little bit coming in, so that’s why the last two birdies were extremely important to me, because I kind of felt like the momentum was going the other way, so I felt like I got the momentum back and can hopefully post another good one tomorrow.”

“I’m going to play aggressively and play like I’ve been playing, and, you know, I’m playing well enough to come from five back. It can be done.”

Amy Yang, from South Korea, has fourth spot to herself at -9 under par, a second round -6 under 65 easing her up the leaderboard.

Leave a Reply

