BMW International Open. Andres Romero Returns To Winners Circle

White Dragon GolfBMW Int

Andres Romero, from Argentina, returns to winners circle for the first time in ten years lifting the BMW International Open title at Golfclub München Eichenried in Germany.

BMW International Open

Andres Romero / getty

A final  bogey free round  of  -7 under par 65 gave Andres the BMW International Open title with a -17 under par tournament total, and he was very happy with the outcome. A birdie putt at the last hole gave him the win, and avoided a play-off;

“I’m really happy, after ten years winning on the European Tour, especially here in Germany. I’m really, really happy.”

“The whole round was very good. I was focused all day. I didn’t make any bogeys, that is a rare thing for my type of game.”

“The last few holes I noticed I made seven birdies but the whole round was excellent.”

“I was nervous when I got to the 18th green but finally when I was thinking with two putts I could win the tournament, I was really nervous.”

“But hopefully I was going to do a two-putt and now I have my trophy and enjoy this moment.”

Tied in second place at -16 under par were; Sergio Garcia, Spain, -3 under 69 today, Richard Bland, England, -3 under 69, and Thomas Detry, Belgium, with a last round -6 under 66.

Sergio said he miscued with his putter a few times;

“It was a good week. Obviously fell just short.”

“I felt like I played well enough to win for sure.”

“Obviously a couple of missed putts here and there today and some really good putts that didn’t want to go in.”

Richard also had problems with the putter;

“I’m pretty gutted but I gave it a good run. I just got caught in between clubs on 17 and it was the only shot I didn’t commit to all day.”

“Proud of the two shots I hit on the last and just didn’t quite hole the putts.”

Thomas also had that feeling about the putter;

“You always have that little bit of a sour feeling in yourself when you finish just short.”

“I wasn’t putting great and now I’m making some good putts, it’s good to be in that position on the weekend.”

Good Putting wins Prizes.

Leave a Reply

