Travelers Championship. Jordan With Wire to Wire Win, Via Play-Off.

White Dragon GolfTravelers Championship

Jordan Spieth completed his wire to wire win at the Travelers Championship, albeit via a Play-Off against Daniel Berger, at TPC  River Highlands.

Travelers Championship

Jordan & Trophy

Jordan, even par 70 today and Daniel, -3 under 67, were tied for the Travelers Championship title after the final round at -12 under par. Jordan then  chipped in from the fairway bunker for a birdie on the first play-off hole, the par four 18th;

“I went nuts, that was fun.”

“I guess if you call something enough times, every once in a while, one of them goes in.”

“At least I think this one had good speed going in.”

“I’ve always taken some crap from my peers about the John Deere one potentially going off the green or into the water or whatever.”

“This is probably my luckiest win, for sure, with all the breaks I got today.”

“I’m surprised twelve under won, especially after the first couple of holes. I was rolling and thought we’d get to sixteen, which was the goal.”

Daniel could only stand and watch as Jordan pulled off some magic;

“I played great today.”

 “I played the playoff hole great. He hit an unbelievable fairway bunker shot.”

“And Jordan does Jordan things, so there’s not really much you can say.”

“I’m obviously disappointed, but happy to be in the position I was in today. I knew I could do it.”

“I knew I needed to hit a bunch of good shots and I did. But you can’t do anything about that. It’s incredible.”

Daniel also tweeted;

“Hopefully the next time @JordanSpieth does that I’m on his team and I can chest bump him too !!”

Charlie Hoffman, -4 under 66 today, and Danny Lee, from New Zealand, -3 under 67, tied for third place at -10 under par.

Rory McIlroy played a little better today, -6 under 66, except for his putter. The defending FedExCup champion is aware of whats coming;

“Short game can definitely get a little better, and obviously, putting, which is a combination of taking my opportunities when I put myself in a good position for birdie.”

“Obviously got a World Golf Championship, two majors and FedExCup Playoffs to think about.”

“So, a lot of important stuff still coming up. I feel my game’s in good shape to try and contend again.”

Sharing 5th place at -9 under par were Patrick Reed, Paul Casey, and Boo Weekley.

 

 

Leave a Reply

