Walmart NW Arkansas Championship. So Yeon Wins, Is Now World Number 1

White Dragon Golf

So Yeon Ryu, from South Korea, wins the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship, and also becomes the new Ladies World Number 1.

 Walmart NW Arkansas Championship

So Yeon

So Yeon carded a final round -2 under par 69 to win the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship with a -18 under par total, and a two shot winning margin, making her dream as world number one come true;

“Dreams come true! I always dreamed about it. I cannot believe it. I didn’t expect two good things coming together.”

“First of all, I really want to appreciate everyone who has been supportive of me, to make me the No. 1 player in the world. That’s finally made my dream.”

“This is going to my first week as the No. 1 player in the world. I know it’s going to be a lot of pressure and I know I can handle a lot of different things.”

“I’m glad to be a multiple winner, and also this is not the first time I’ve won more than once in a year, so hopefully many more to come.”

“One of the reason why I think I can be consistent is because I enjoy this game. I just want to be focused, enjoy this game and then try to improve every moment.”

 “Then, I want to see what God going to give me.” 

Amy Yang, -7 under 64 today, and Moriya Jutanugarn, -5 under 66 today tied for second place at -16 under par for the three rounds.

Moriya is getting more confident;

“I get a lot of confidence from this week and hopefully keep playing solid and finish in another good week.”

Stacy Lewis and Michelle Wie were tied in fourth spot at -13 under par.

Stacy struggled with her putter, the ball would just not drop in the hole;

“I thought I did a really good job again of just sticking to the game plan of this golf course.”

“I know how to play this golf course better than anybody, just couldn’t quite get the putts to fall.”

 “The game’s so close, though, I’m excited. We’ve got majors coming up and I’m excited where my game’s at right now.”

 

Leave a Reply

