HNA Open de France. Alexander Björk and Peter Uihlein Tied at the Top

White Dragon Golf

Alexander Björk, Sweden, and Peter Uihlein, USA, are tied the top of the HNA Open de France leaderboard at at Le Golf National in Paris.

Open de France

Peter Uihlein

Peter shot even par 71, and Alexander -1 under 70 in the third round of the  HNA Open de France, to top the leaderboard at -8 under par, which will give them a one shot advantage at the start of play in the final round tomorrow.

 Peter said it was a tough day, but is excited about tomorrow;

“It was hard, it was a tough day, it was challenging for sure. I didn’t really feel disheartened making pars.”

“It’s what you practice for and it’s what you play for is to get in contention on Sunday in the final group and see how it goes.”

“I was proud of the way I handled myself on the back nine. I felt like I hit it a lot better after a shaky start. I’m excited for tomorrow.”

Alexander  was happy with his round today;

“I’m happy. Happy with the way I played and the way I fought with the start and I came back in the end.”

 “It should be a lot of fun. Really looking forward to tomorrow.”

Three players are tied in third place, one shot back at -7 under par; Tommy Fleetwood, England, even par 71 today, Thomas Pieters, Belgium, -2 under 69, and Andy Sullivan, England, with his -3 under 68 third round score.

Tommy also had a tough day;

“It was a lot tougher today. The course was playing tougher but, myself, I didn’t hit it well.”

“To be in contention on a Sunday is an absolute privilege and a pleasure, I say that all the time.”

“I can’t wait to play tomorrow. I love playing with a chance to win and hopefully this will be another one.”

Thomas said he played poorly, and can’t wait until tomorrow;

“I’m still where I want to be., can’t really believe that I’m one off the lead with such poor play.”

“So very much looking forward to it tomorrow.”

Andy reported that he had been playing like a doughnut so far this year;

“Didn’t play that great to start the front nine.”

“Just scrambling a little bit, just being patient and then sort of start of the back nine I really got going with a couple of birdies and felt like I was back in the tournament.”

 “Hopefully tomorrow that will put me in good stead for tomorrow and have a go at it.”

 “I’ve played like a doughnut to start the year with but it’s getting back now and it’s good.”

Leave a Reply

