Quicken Loans National. Lingmerth Limps But Still Leads.

White Dragon GolfQuicken Loans National

David Lingmerth limps along in the third round of the Quicken Loans National, but still maintains his lead at TPC Potomac, where a thunderstorm delayed play for 90 minutes.

Lingmerth keeps lead after difficult Saturday

David Lingmerth / getty

David, from Sweden, carded a third round +3 over par 73 at the Quicken Loans National tournament, but stayed on top of the leaderboard at -7 under par.

A wire to wire win would be a new experience for David;

“I haven’t had the wire-to-wire scenario in my career, but a lot of great players have won tournaments that way and I would like to do it as well.”

“I’m kind of feeling like I’m up for the challenge.”

Daniel Summerhays is in second place, one shot back at -6 under par, he played a little better, an even par round of 70.

Daniel has had putter trouble, the ball will just not get in the hole;

“I struck the ball extremely well, I’ve had a lot of great looks, so maybe I just need to persuade that ball into the cup a little bit more.”

Spenser Levin fired the round of the day -5 under 65, and it takes him into third position on his own at that score of -5 under, a significant move on moving day, while everyone else struggled.

Spenser had a good day with his putter, and hopes for another good day tomorrow, he would love to chalk up his first PGA Tour win;

“It was the best round I’ve had all year by far. It’s been a tough year, but the putts have been going in this week, which is obviously why I’m playing well.” 

“I’ve had a chance and have never won, so if I don’t, it wouldn’t be anything new.”

“But I’m going to go out there with a different mindset. I’m going to try and make putts and see if I can do it.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

