HNA Open de France. Tommy Fleetwood Wins

White Dragon Golf

Tommy Fleetwood, of England, wins the  HNA Open de France at Le Golf National in Paris.

 HNA Open de France

Tommy & Trophy / getty

Tommy won the HNA Open de France  with a final round -5 under par 66, giving him a -12 under par total, a one shot winning margin;

“Today, it’s a day that I’ll never forget, the way I felt coming down the stretch, the holes and the shots you have to hit.”

“Winning, it’s the best feeling by far in golf and to do it on this golf course in this event, a Rolex Series event, just massive, massive bonuses.”

“It’s just been a great week from start to finish. Coming off the back of good golf, US Open and BMW in Germany, felt like I’ve been swinging it well.”

“So it’s good to put it into practice and I’ve just kept up good form.”

“With the start I had this year, it’s very easy to look at the Race to Dubai and want to look towards the end of the year.”

“Winning the Race to Dubai, it’s going to be tough.”

Longtime leader Peter Uihlein, USA, carded a last round -3 under 68, but at -11 under par it only gave him second place, the consolation was a spot in The Open;

“I didn’t really look much at the board but when I saw he posted about 12, I think I was nine at that point on 11.”

 “Any time you finish second in a golf tournament, it’s always a good week.”

Tied in third position, and also gaining places at The Open were, Mike Lorenzo-Vera, France, a last round of -5 under 66, Alexander Björk, Sweden, even par 71 today, and Thorbjørn Olesen, Denmark, equaling the low round of the day at -6 under 65. They all finished the tournament at -8 under par.

Home favorite Mike was happy his final putt fell in;

“That was really quality. I had two bonus putts on 15 and 18. I didn’t know that was going to be that fast on 18. It chunked a bit when it caught the hole but very happy.”

Alexander was happy with a spot in The Open;

“It’s been a great week here. I’m playing really good. Final round, I was trying to get out there and really, really play aggressive and try and win a spot.”

Thorbjørn felt there was a low round in him;”

“I’m very happy. I felt like I played really well the whole way around.”

“I was very relaxed on the golf course. I felt like this week, one day there was going to come a low round.”

Leave a Reply

