Dubai Duty Free Irish Open. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

There are two players tied at the top of the Dubai Duty Free Irish Open, Daniel Im, USA, and Benjamin Herbert, France, share after the 1st round at Portstewart Golf Club in Northern Ireland.

Dubai Duty Free Irish Open

Daniel Im / getty

Daniel and Benjamin shot -8 under par 64, to lead the  Dubai Duty Free Irish Open, by just one shot.

Daniel had a good day with the putter, even sinking an 18 footer in the last hole to share the lead;

“I think it was a bit of luck, I think the big man was definitely watching out for me today.”

“And then I striped the ball quite well at the end. I putted really well through the round.”

“I made some good par saves and I made some good birdie putts to keep it going.”

Benjamin enjoyed the atmosphere;

“It was just a great day, the atmosphere was so good.”

“My attitude was probably the best it’s been all year. I was positive all day.”

“Kept my routine going. Stayed calm and the result showed how good it was.”

Tied in third place, at -7 under par after their opening rounds of 65 are; Oliver Fisher and Mathew Southgate, both from England, they are joined on that score by Jon Rahm, from Spain.

The Defending champion and also the tournament host Rory McIlroy carded a rather disappointing even par 72 first round.

 Joost Luiten recorded the 21st hole-in-one of the European Tour season at the par three sixth hole today.

Leave a Reply

