Ladies European Thailand Championship. Two Ladies Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

There are two ladies tied at the top of the Ladies European Thailand ChampionshipAna Menendez of Mexico and  Chonlada Chayanun, Thailand, after the first round at Phoenix Gold Golf and Country Club.

l Ladies European Thailand Championship

Ana Menendez / getty

Ana and Chonlada both carded -4 under par 68 to lead the  Ladies European Thailand Championship.

Ana actually recorded her lowest round of her career;

“I’m very pleased with the way I played today. I stayed patient out there and I’m proud of how I focused and held it together.”

“I think this is a course where you need to strategize a lot, and I was doing that well.”

“Some of the bounces can surprise you, so I was pleased with how I managed the course and I got up and down when I needed to and made two chip-ins today, so that helped.”

“This year so far has been a lot steadier for me. I’m the only Mexican player on tour and last year, I didn’t know a lot of the girls. We were playing so far away and it was a little overwhelming and I started losing my confidence.”

“I’m very happy with my work in the off season and I’ve played more steadily.”

“I’ve had some great experiences, like playing with Lydia Ko in the Lorena Ochoa Match Play, so I’m very happy with the way the year is turning out so far.”

Chonlada hit a lot of fairways today, and took 30 putts;

“My driver was really good. I hit 13 fairways today and missed only one, which is on hole 18. “

“I hit 14 greens and made all the up and downs. My putting was good and I had 30 putts, but it could have been better.”

Alone in third place at -2 under par is Thailand amateur player Atthaya Thitikul, at 14 years of age is the youngest player in the field, and is hoping to make the cut here;

 Ladies European Thailand Championship

Atthaya Thitikul / getty

“I’m so happy with my score today and it was so good.”

“I used the experience of playing in the Honda LPGA Thailand to prepare for this. I hope to make the cut here and gain more experience.”

 

Leave a Reply

