The Greenbrier Classic. Sebastian Munoz Leads, with a 61.

White Dragon GolfThe Greenbrier Classic

Sebastian Munoz, Colombia, leads The Greenbrier Classic, with a 61 opening round at White Sulphur Springs.
The Greenbrier Classic

Sebastian Munoz

Sebastian carded -9 under par 61 to lead The Greenbrier Classic by two shots on day one. He said a friend gave him a tip about his putter, and it worked;

“Things kind of clicked, it was a good surprise.”

Davis Love 111 is in second place, those two shots back a -7 under par after his first round of 63, a lot of hard work after his snowboarding accident is paying off;

“I’ve been working real hard the last couple of weeks on trying to fix my swing to kind of swing around a stiff back and a stiff hip.”

 “I’ve given up on hitting it a long way. I’m just saying I’ve got to hit it straight, and this is the perfect golf course for me to get it in the fairway.”

“A lot of hard work is kind of starting to pay off.”

The Defending champion Danny Lee, New Zealand, shot -6 under 64, along with David Lingmerth, Sweden, Ben Martin,USA, rookie Xander Schauffele,USA and Graham DeLaet and Nick Taylor from Canada, all sharing third position.

David was not going to dwell on his missed opportunity from last week;

“I’m not going to dwell on it too much, a nice little start today.”

“I didn’t really have my best stuff. I never really got into trouble.”

“I gave myself a couple of opportunities.”

The course itself has recovered well after last years deluge caused havoc, destroying some areas, causing the cancellation of last years tournament.

Leave a Reply

