Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic. Two Ladies Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

Sei Young Kim and Laura Gonzalez Escallon are the two ladies who are tied at the top of the Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic leaderboard after round one of the tournament.

Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic

Sei Young Kim and Laura Gonzalez Escallon / getty

Sei Young, South Korea, and rookie Laura, Belgium, who was bogey free today, both carded first rounds of -7  under par 65, to top the Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic leaderboard.

Sei Young played well and had a good day with her putter;

“My shots were solid today, and the greens were softer, so I was able to go after the pins and give myself a lot of birdie opportunities.”

 “And then putting was good, and I made a lot of birdies.”

“It’s been a long time since I played well in the first round, so I’m very blessed to have shot a seven-under.”

“We have three more days, and I’m looking forward to the other days.”

Rookie Laura notched up a top ten finish in her LPGA Tour debut, and was pleased with her start here;

“I started with a top ten, so that was a dream come true, and I mean, I’m just learning and enjoying it here.”

 “I have a great caddie, so that helps just to have fun and enjoy it and try to meet people and get to know the courses.”

“I started really hot and then I kind of stumbled a little bit, so my goal was to finish strong, and I did that.”

Sharing third place at -6 under par are Madeline Shells, USA, and Min G Kim, South Korea, returning first rounds of 66.

Rookie Madeline came back refreshed for golf after a coaching session;

“I had a really good session with my coach last weekend, and I felt like, I played seven weeks straight, and then I had last week off, and as soon as I like rested and refreshed myself, it was like, oh, my gosh, I can do this, like I’m okay.”

“I saw my coach, and I felt positive going into this whole week.”

Leave a Reply

