Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic. Bad Weather Halts 2nd Round.

White Dragon Golf

Bad weather halts second round play at Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic, with dangerous lightning in the area. Katherine Kirk, Australia, is the current leader.

Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic

Katherine Kirk / getty

Katherine had completed her second round before play was halted at the Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic, shooting -9 under par 63 today to post -13 under at the top of the leaderboard;

“I think it might be my best round on the LPGA. I know I’ve had eight but I don’t know if I’ve had nine, so yeah, really happy with it.”

“I felt like I was striking it well yesterday, I just didn’t really capitalize. My philosophy was just keep giving myself chances even if I’m 10 over par and still try and make birdies coming in.”

“You know things are going right when you’re hitting a little 4 hybrid in to four feet.”

“The greens for us are softer than usual, so we’re able to basically throw darts at it. It is sometimes definitely a putting competition when the greens are this soft.” 

Jaye Marie Green, USA, is in second place, she too finished her second round, with a -6 under 66 taking her to -10, three shots off the pace;

“Well, I shot even par on my front nine. I couldn’t really get a lot going, and then kind of everything was going pretty well on the back.”

“I was hitting fairways, hit it close, and then when I did, I made the putt. I shot six under on the back, which was cool.”

Ashleigh Buhai, South Africa, -6 under 66 today, Ilhee Lee, South Korea, -4 under 68, and Moriya Jutanugarn, Thailand, -4 under 68, all share third place at -9 under par, with completed second rounds.

Ashleigh liked the course this morning;

 “I hit a lot of good shots, and the greens were very pure this morning, so I felt I read the greens pretty good and picked the line and managed to roll a few in.

 

Leave a Reply

