Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic. More Weather Delays, Katherine Still on Top.

White Dragon Golf

Katherine Kirk, Australia, is still on top of the Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic. as more weather delays hit the tournament.

 Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic

Katherine Kirk / getty

Katherine fired a -7 under par 65 in the third round of the Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic, too top the leaderboard at -20 under par, and will take a comfortable four shot advantage into the final round tomorrow;

“I like this golf course. It suits my eye, and I think it’s going to take another low one tomorrow.”

“I said to my caddie, I feel like four under is about even par out there just because you get so many good birdie opportunities and a lot of wedges into holes, a couple reachable par fives.”

“I’ll be trying to get a couple under my belt early just to kind of give me some breathing room. A lot of golf still to be played.”

Ashleigh Buhai, South Africa, is in second place at -16 under par, she too posted a third round -7 under par 65, despite making a bogey on the first hole, her putter helping to repair the damage;

“I hit the ball really solid. I made a bogey on my first hole, and after that I hit 17 greens in a row.”

“I just kind of favored to the side of the pin that you had to, and I rolled in a few fifteen footers”

” I was cautious at some times, and then I knew when I could be aggressive.” 

 “I’ve known Katherine for a long time, so I think it’ll be good for us being in familiar company, and I think we have a similar game. I look forward to it.”

Ayako Uehara, of Japan, -7 under 65 today, and Jodi Ewart Shadoff, England, a bogey free -6 under 66, are tied in third position at -13 under par.

Jodi was feeling calm and putted well;

“It was good, I was feeling calm, relaxed, just enjoyed the round, hitting the ball well, and some putts fell in the middle of the round, so it was nice.”

Because of the threat that the weather could pose in the area again on Sunday, the final round of the Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic will begin at 09:30 local time, and the ladies will be teeing off in threesomes.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

