Ladies European Thailand Championship, 14 Year-Old Atthaya Youngest Ever Winner.

White Dragon Golf

Aged just 14 years, 4 months and 19 days amateur player Atthaya Thitikul from Thailand becomes the youngest ever winner on the Ladies European Tour, taking that honor away from Lydia Ko. A smiling Atthaya takes a selfie of herself and the Ladies European Thailand Championship trophy.

European Thailand Championship

A Selfie from Atthaya Thitikul

Atthaya carded an even par 72 final round to win the  Ladies European Thailand Championship with a -5 under par total at Phoenix Golf and Country Club;

 “I’m so happy and proud of myself. I did not look nervous, but of course I felt nerves on the first tee and on the first hole.”

“I did not think about the score. I committed to every shot I hit and stayed relaxed.”

“My caddie helped me a lot, not to think too much, to focus on my game plan and to plan the tee shots and second shots.”

“My family do not play golf. When I was younger, aged six, my father told me to play sport and he offered tennis or golf and I watched golf on TV and I liked it.”

jube762

Family and friends / getty

Atthaya, Caddie and Father / getty

Ana Menendez, Mexico, who was going for a wire to wire win came in second at -3 under par, a sad last round of +3 over par 75 her undoing;

“Right now, I’m disappointed, because I know I could have done better and my start was a little poor.”

“There are lots of positives to take and I will go home happy. I’m looking forward to the rest of the year and I’ve made huge strides from this year to last year, so I’m proud of myself and my team.”

“I was feeling nervous again and it wasn’t quite comfortable today, with my swing and everything. I was in between clubs a lot so it was tough to make decisions and overall it was a tough day for me.”

Whitney Hillier, Australia, claimed third place at -2 under for the tournament, her last round -1 under 71 good enough to earn that place;

“I only made two birdies today and I was so patient out there. I made nothing on the front nine and then finally made a couple in the end.”

“It was a solid game and I was very happy with that. I tried to get myself back up there and I did.”

“I’ve been working really hard the last couple of months as well, but it does help to have local support, my mum and all of her friends cheering me on.”

Leave a Reply

