Scottish Open. Mikko Ilonen Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Mikko Ilonen, from Finland, leads the  Abderdeen Asset Management Scottish Open on day one at  Dundonald Links.

Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open.

Mikko Ilonen / getty

Mikko broke away from the field on day one of the Scottish Open, shooting -7 under par 65, to lead by two strokes;

“Sixty five is the round of the season, really.”

“I do need to put some rounds together. I’ve got to start from a couple of holes, nine holes and now 18 holes and I’ve just got to continue from there. I haven’t been able to put two rounds together, so it’s a long way to get four rounds together.

“I’ve played links golf when I was a kid, as an amateur we played and I won the Amateur back in the day. There’s some experience in there.”

“I actually changed my irons on Tuesday. So new irons in the bag, 718s. (Titleist)

” It can be just little things that gives you a little extra confidence.”

The chasing pack, all six of them at -5 under, following their rounds 67, are two shots back, they are, Rickie Fowler and Paul Peterson, USA, Padraig Harrington, Ireland, Ian Poulter and Callum Shinkwin of England, and Andrew Dodt of Australia.

Rickie, who was bogey free today, is having fun out on the links;

Fowler loving life on links

Rickie / getty

“It felt good but it’s fun to go out on links and for me to hit shots and they don’t necessarily have to be spot on,”

“It’s kind of about managing the game and hitting shots and working your way around the golf course and putting yourself in the right position and avoiding bunkers.”

“I felt like I did a good job of hitting fairways today, staying on the right side of the hole and made a couple of birdies and it’s always nice to have a clean card.”

” I love playing links golf. It’s a great week.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

