Senior LPGA Championship. Trish Johnson Victorious.

White Dragon Golfsenior-lpga-championship

Trish Johnson, of England was victorious at the inaugural  Senior LPGA Championship, with a stunning wire to wire win at the Pete Dye, French Lick Resort course in Indiana.

Senior LPGA Championship

Trish & Trophy / getty

Trish lead from start to finish to win the Senior LPGA Championship with a -4 under par tournament total.

Having won on this course before has helped Trish make this her favorite course;

“I’m often asked what my favorite course in the world is and I always say St. Andrews, but I think this place has taken over.”

“It feels fantastic, this is the reason you play golf to try and win something like this. It is going to be a very, very fun evening.”

“I hit my driver so well all week, I was quite long so I was hitting a lot of short irons in.”

“Some of these greens are pretty wicked so if you have short clubs in that is a major advantage.”

Michele Redman, USA, was in second place with -1 under par total for her four rounds, a couple of miscued drives giving her problems;

“I’m happy, I wish I had two drives back, but other than that I played really well and hit some great shots.”

“It was great to see that I could still hit shots under pressure. It was also fun to play with Trish, I really enjoyed it.”

Dame Laura Davies, England, started poorly on day one, carding 79, and then got better and better, finishing in a tie for third place with Helen Alfredsson, Sweden and Wendy Doolan, Australia, all at +1 over par for the competition.

Dame Laura is a fighter;

“I never give up, sometimes it may look like I have given up if I’m slumping around, but I’m always trying to get the extra shot out of the round.”

“I hate to walk away from a tournament knowing I left something out there. Six-under on the weekend is never a bad thing.”

“I was playing catch up as I was five over after 10 holes (on day one) so I kind of put myself out of the tournament after what Trish did that first day.”

“If she hadn’t been so good on day one, I might have still fancied my chances. It could have been even better today, but I was happy to hole a nice putt at the end on 18.”

 

Leave a Reply

