Scottish Open. Three Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

There are three players tied at the top of the Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open leaderboard, at Dundonald Links. Padraig Harrington, Alexander Knappe and Callum Shinkwin share the top honor going into the week-end.

Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open

Padraig Harrington / getty

Padraig, Ireland, bogey free -4 under par 68 today, Alexander, Germany, -7 under 65 and Callum, England, -4 under 68  to set the clubhouse lead at the Scottish Open with -9 under par totals.

Padraig spoke about bogey free boring golf;

“Today was positively boring compared to yesterday, when there was a lot of drama.”

“I hit two nice seven irons on the first and second, my 10th and 11th holes, and birdied two of the par fives.”

“Yesterday I started off a bit iffy and got a few breaks. I was two under after three and I could have been two over.”

“Then when the rain came in I really struggled but I holed a massive putt for par on 16 and chipped in from 30 yards for a birdie on 17.”

“So it was nice to go out and play solid. It’s nice when there is no stress.”

They are closely followed by Ian Poulter, England, -3 under 69 in his second round, and Andrew Dodt, of Australia, also -3 under 69, both with -8 under par totals.

Nicolas Colsaerts, -5 under 67 Rickie Fowler, -2 under 70, and Grégory Havret, -6 under 66, are all at -7 under par, in fourth place.

Rory McIlroy is still in reverse as he misses another cut, but said his putting had improved;

“I’m frustrated but I thought I saw some good signs this week.”

“My putting was definitely improved although my wedges were not quite there.”

“I’m just waiting for something, some sort of spark, something to go right, and the last couple weeks haven’t been like that. Just got to keep plugging away and hopefully it turns around next week.”

Leave a Reply

