U.S. Women’s Open. Shanshan Still Leads,

White Dragon Golf

Shanshan Feng, China, still leads the U.S. Women’s Open at Trump National, on a rainy day. President Trump also put in an appearance, the first time ever a sitting president had been at the U.S. Women’s Open.

U.S. Women's Open

Shanshan Feng / getty

Shanshan carded a second round -2 under 70, to stay ahead of the field at the U.S. Women’s Open, with a -8 under par total. She spoke about playing in the rain;

“I played probably the first nine holes in the rain, but my phone told me it was going to rain all afternoon and I was prepared.”

 “I really didn’t pay attention to the weather and just concentrated on every shot.”

“But I had a lot of five irons and hybrids into par fours  and a three wood on No. 9.”

Sharing second place are three ladies from South Korea, Jeongeun6 Lee, -3 under 69 today, amateur player Hye Jin Choi, -3 under 69, and Amy Yang, -1 under 71,  they are two shots back at -6 under par.

Jeongeun6 Lee has started using a six after her name, because there are five other ladies from South Korea  with the same name;

“The 6 was added to my name because there are six players on the KLPGA with the same name and I was the last one.”

“With the rain, I was able to stop the ball on the green, which made me more comfortable.” 

Angela Stanford, currently at -2 under par, is happy the President is here, she wanted to be a Secret Agent;

“I secretly want to be a Secret Service agent, so I’m kind of hoping to see one at some point.”

“They are hard to find. But it’s pretty cool. You have Secret Service at your major golf tournament.”

 

Leave a Reply

