Scottish Open. Rafa Beats Callum In Play-Off.

White Dragon Golf

Rafa Cabrera Bello, Spain, beats Callum Shinkwin, of England, in a play-off to win  Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open at Dundonald Links in Scotland.

Scottish Open

Rafa Cabrera Bello / skysports

Rafa, -8 under par 64 today, a new course record, and Callum, -4 under 68 were tied at the top of the  Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open leaderboard at -13 under par after  the 72 holes.

Rafa won with a birdie four at the first play-off hole, the par five 18th, saying it was good putting that set up the record score;

“Obviously I am extremely happy, I have won before and I have been up there so many, many times and things have not really worked out.”

“I was starting to feel a little bit of pressure every time I was up there contending so I’m really, really happy how I played today.”

“In the play-off I really gave it a go and I’m extremely pleased it worked out for me. Those are the moments we practice for.”

“I truly enjoy those pressure situations. I think they really define you if you can really perform under those circumstances. I hit a great shot and birdie was enough to win.”

“Today I had that little bit of luck that I needed. I stayed patient and I putted good.”

“I really trusted myself and I played almost the best golf of my life.”

Callum made his only bogey of the day, on the last, to miss out on the outright win;

“My game was holding up fantastic from the word go. I drove the ball unbelievable off the tee all day and I don’t think I missed many greens.”

“I got in there [The Open] last year and didn’t perform too well. But this year my game feels better and hopefully I can perform much better.”

“Under the gun, I didn’t miss a shot until the last hole, I learnt I can compete with the best.”

Matthieu Pavon, France claimed third place at -10 under par, with a final round -6 under 66.

 

Leave a Reply

