U.S. Women’s Open. Sung Hyun Park With Maiden Win

White Dragon Golf

Sung Hyun Park, South Korea, with her maiden LPGA Tour win claims a Major title at the U.S. Women’s Open, at Trump National.

U.S. Women's Open

Sung Hyun Park / getty

Sung Hyun should have won the U.S. Women’s Open last year, but found water at the last to miss out on a play-off. This year she made no mistakes in winning her 1st LPGA Title;

“I did not have the best first and second rounds.”

“I wanted to believe in myself again for the final two rounds and I did.”

Amateur Hye Jin Choi, also from South Korea, was in second place at -9 under par, with a final round -1 under 71.

Third place was shared, with South Korea taking out the top four places on the leaderboard. At -7 under were Mi Jung Hur, -4 under 68 today, and So Yeon Ryu, with her last round -2 under 70.

Shanshan Feng, China, was going for a wire to wire win, needed an Eagle at the last, just get into a play-off. The gamble failed, resulting instead in a triple bogey eight, dropping her from second place to T6 at -6 under, with a last round +3 over 75, blaming poor putting for the lackluster last round;

“I think overall before the last hole I did pretty well, I did a good job hanging in right there because my putting was not really that great.” 

“You know now I look back I should be happy, actually, about my result because coming into this week I had no expectations at all.”

“My last three U.S. Opens I think I missed tow cuts and last year I just made the cut so actually this year is such an improvement. So I think it’s been great.”

Best American in this year’s U.S. Women’s Open was Marina Alex, T 11 at -4 under for the tournament, -2 under 70 today;

“It’s cool, it’s awesome, I’m really glad that the State of New Jersey and the community found it and interesting coming out to watch me and watching women’s golf, being out here. I’m really happy.”

Leave a Reply

