LPGA Marathon Classic. Gerina Grabs Lead.

White Dragon Golf

Gerina Pillar, grabs the Marathon Classic lead, shooting 63, in round one at Highland Meadows Golf Club.

Marathon Classic

Gerina Pillar / getty

Gerina, USA carded -8 under par 63, which included one bogey, to lead the Marathon Classic by one shot. She said it was a good day with the putter as the putts were just rolling in;

“I birdied my first three holes and any time you can start off three in a row, it’s pretty good.”

“I just kept hitting it close and had some close birdie putts here and there, and I did make a bogey, but I just told myself like I’m doing great things and just keep doing what I’m doing.” 

“I feel like any time you shoot 8-under is pretty good.”

“I got off to a good start and got the putts rolling.”

“To be honest, my ball-striking didn’t feel as great coming into this weekend, and the week after a major it’s always tough just because you’re so exhausted mentally, and I just went out there and really trusted what I had and just brought it together, and my game feels really good right now.”

Two ladies are tied in second position at -7 under par, Peiyun Chien, Taipei, and Sung Hyun Park, South Korea, they are just that one shot back.

Sung Hyun, bogey free today, spoke about her Major success;

“My feeling today was so awesome, it was a good start after the major championship winning, and first of all, I need to focus more on the Marathon Classic and want to keep my major happiness behind me from now on.”

“My fairway shots wasn’t that concrete all the time, but I think I was pretty much satisfied with my other shots.”

“In Korea, I did win a lot, but here, especially for the major, I’m very happy for that.”

“But currently I just want to focus on Marathon Classic, so it’s not a big deal for me to put that behind me.”

Peiyun is apparently always changing her swing, and today it worked well;

“I did well today because I changed my playing. I’m always thinking the swing on the golf course, so today I just played freely.”

“I tried to find some feeling and play, and it’s worked. I’m very happy.”

Happy to report that there were plenty of mini skirts out on the course today, including the leggy Lexi, who is currently at -4 under par.

 

Leave a Reply

