LPGA Marathon Classic. Gerina Still Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Gerina Pillar still leads the LPGA Marathon Classic after two rounds at  Highland Meadows Golf Club.

Marathon Classic

Gerina / getty

Gerina, from the USA, who is seeking her first LPGA Tour title carded -3 under 68 today to maintain her top position on the Marathon Classic leaderboard with a -11 under par total. Great day with the putter, and patience  was key today;

“I felt like I played great. I missed some birdie opportunities, but I made some longer putts today.”

“Ball striking feels great. Putting feels great. It was just a matter of staying patient and just letting the results come.”

“It’s only Friday, so I wouldn’t put the cart before the horse, but to get that first win I think would be really special, no matter where it is.”

“I’m just going to try to focus on the process, and the result will take care of itself.”

Three ladies are tied  second place at -10 under par, Lexi Thompson, USA, -6 under 65 today, In-Kyung Kim, South Korea, -4 under 67, and Peiyun Chien, from Taipei, with a second round -3 under 68.

Aditi Ashok, from India, is in fifth position on her own at -9 under par, a second round score of -3 under keeping her in touch with the leaders;

 “This week I wasn’t actually supposed to play, so when I came here I just took it kind of easy and I practiced not as much as I would have usually practiced.”

“I’m sure I’m in a good spot, but yeah, I will keep watching because I think on this course, the afternoon wave gets it a little easier than the morning sometimes, so maybe there will be better scores.”

Defending Champion Lydia Ko made the cut on the number, -1 under, making birdie on her last hole to get in. I noticed that Lydia is wearing ring on her engagement finger, not sure if that has any significance, especially with regard to her poor golfing performances recently.

Leave a Reply

