The Open. Jordan Spieth Supreme.

White Dragon Golf

Jordan Spieth supreme in The Open, pulling away from the field at Royal Birkdale during a wet second round afternoon session.

The Open

Jordan

Jordan, USA,  shot -1 under 69, to extend his lead in The Open to two shots at -6 under par. An Eagle at 15 was lucky;

 “I mis-hit it, and I was very fortunate to scoot that last bunker.”

“It was definitely a good break. It wasn’t a bad play. We knew we’d stolen one.”

Keeping the American stranglehold on this competition is Matt Kuchar, in second place, his second round of +1 over par leaving him at -4 under for the tournament.

Sharing third place, at -3 under are Ian Poulter, England, even par 70 today, and Brooks Koepka, USA, with +2 over par 72 second round.

Poults is pumped up;

“I qualified for The Open. I’m loving it. I really am. “

“This is a massive bonus for me to be in this position. I haven’t played in a major for a little while, and I can’t wait.”

“I’m excited. I’m pumped up, I mean I’m ready to go out there toe-to-toe with anyone this weekend.”

Rory McIlroy played himself back into the competition, -2 under 68 today, with an improved performance with the putter giving him a -1 under total and T 7;

The Open

Rory / getty

“That was right up there.”
“It’s really tough out there. I was lucky enough to get off to that great start but the conditions actually got a little bit worse on the back nine and it’s hard.”
“I think this south east wind that we’re playing today is the toughest wind you get on this golf course.”
“To be in after two days and be under par for this championship, after the way I started, I’m ecstatic with that.”
 “I’ve been really, really happy with how I’ve putted the last couple of days and that’s one of the most difficult things today.”

Notables missing the cut, at +5 over par, are Phil Mickelson +10. Padraig Harrington  +6, Justin Thomas +7, Patrick Reed +8, Louis Oosthuizen and Billy Horschel, both with +12 over par.

Phil suffered only his fourth ever cut;

“I missed it with flair.”

“I thought I had a good game plan. I thought my game was sharp. But obviously it wasn’t.”

Leave a Reply

