Ladies Scottish Open. Mi Hyang Lee Wins, from 9 Back.

White Dragon Golf

Mi Hyang Lee, from South Korea, won the Aberdeen Asset Management Ladies Scottish Open, starting the day 9 shots back from the leaders at Dundonald Links.

Ladies Scottish Open

Mi Hyang Lee, Trophy and Piper. / getty

Mi Hyang shot a final round -6 under par 66, to post a club-house  -6 under total, which was good enough to win the Ladies Scottish Open, with good putting being the key to victory;

“It was a really surprise for me, and then just my front nine is amazing, and then I think I got a good start from my first hole.”

“Then just my back nine is a little up-and-down, but I made a lot of putts.”

“I made a lot of good putts and then a good chip shot, too. Just I think hole-by-hole, simple.”

Mi Jung Hur, -6 under 66, and also from South Korea, finished tied in second place, at -5 under par, with longtime tournament leader Karrie Webb, from Australia, a sad last round +1 over par 73.

Karrie looked a certainty for the win after an Eagle at the par five 14th, then disaster struck, dropping three shots in two holes, the 17th was a nightmare;

“Very gutted, I was on a high, making the eagle, and then I had a very nice up-and-down on the next.”

“I bent down, picked my tee up, thought I hit a perfect drive there.”

“When I stood up, I went to tell Johnny that I absolutely knotted my three wood, exactly how I wanted and he said it kicked into the bunker.”

“I have no idea how it did that.”

“Obviously there were nerves there, but there was a good calmness there.”

“Well, my bunker shot, I said to Johnny, I don’t know if I need to hole this or get it up-and-down.”

“Imagine if you went for it and over played it and you only had to get it up-and-down.”

“I was trying to make it but also not being overly aggressive.”

White Dragon Golf

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

