Porsche European Open. Maiden Win For Jordan Smith, in a Play-Off.

White Dragon GolfPorsche European Open Logo

It was a maiden European Tour win for Jordan Smith, in play-off against the defending champion Alex Levy at the Porsche European Open at Green Eagle Golf Courses in Germany.

Porsche European Open

Jordan Smith & Maiden Trophy

Jordan, England, -1 under 71 today and defending champion Alex, from France, a -3 under 69 last round, were tied at the top of the Porsche European Open leaderboard at -13 under par. Jordan won with a birdie four at the second play-off hole, the par five eighteenth.

Jordan sunk a 10ft putt on the last hole of regulation, to get into the play-off;

 “I’ve loved it. It’s been nerve-wracking at times but I’ve really enjoyed it.”

“It’s all a bit surreal. Obviously the Challenge Tour last year and the EuroPro the year before that. It’s been fun.”

“I had a really good start to the year and the first aim was just to secure my Tour card, which I managed to do.”

“And then the second goal was to win an event, which I’ve managed to do.”

Alex struggled with his putting today;

 “I struggled a bit today on the putting but I think I played really good golf and I improved my game week after week and that’s really nice.”

I’m really proud of what I did today. I shot three under in the conditions that were really tough and I played really well.”

“I think there are a lot of good things coming for me in the next few months.

Siddikur Rahman, Bangladesh, -4 under 68 today, and Johan Edfors, Sweden, who carded -2 under 70 in his lat round, tied for third place, two shots back at -11 under par.

Siddikur had a good day with his putting, for all four days, and was happy with his round today

“It was a really great day. I couldn’t expect this today but I am very fortunate my hitting was good, especially my putting.”

“it was really good all four days, so I am really happy with today’s round.”

Johan could not make a putt today;

“I didn’t play all that badly on the front nine, I just couldn’t make any putts and made some silly bogeys.”

” I’m really happy with four solid rounds so I will try to bring that to the next event.”

White Dragon Golf

 

 

Leave a Reply

