RBC Canadian Open. Vegas Defends Title, In Play-Off

White Dragon GolfRBC Canadian Open

Jhonattan Vegas defends his RBC Canadian Open title, beating Charlie Hoffman in a play-off at Glen Abbey Golf Club in Canada.

Jhonattan Vegas / getty

Jhonattan had a -7 under 65 last round to top the RBC Canadian Open leaderboard, but Charlie, the third round leader made a birdie at the last for a -4 under 68, and to join him at -21 under par for the tournament.

Jhonattan, Venezuela then birdied the first play-off hole, the par five 18th, to secure his hold on the Trophy, but he was lucky with his approach to the green;

“When I heard the clip, because obviously I didn’t see it, I knew that it was probably going to go in the water, because I didn’t know exactly how hard it hit it.”

 “But then when I saw the ball in the air, it was still going really hard and forward.”

“It’s been a special day, I knew that I had to shoot a good round today to have a chance to win again.”

“I just came out with an aggressive mentality, just feeling really good about my game. “

“When I started making a few birdies, especially the putt for birdie on seven, I started feeling the same chills that I felt last year when I won, and I just knew that something good could happen if I kept that going.”

Charlie, USA, had a horrible putting day

“I gave myself a chance, except I putted horribly today and left everything short.”

“Jonny played great today. All credit to him.”

“It’s always tough after you don’t close the deal after having the lead.”

 “Seventeen, I hit a great putt. Actually thought I made it.”

“That green was a little burned out. Thought I made that putt on 17.”

“Eighteen, I hit a good putt. Sixteen, is the one I want back, right in the jaw strip, didn’t get there.”

A resurgent Ian Poulter, England, was in third place, a final round -8 under par 64 leaving him just one shot short of a play-off, at -20 under. He had a great day with the putter;

“The best thing I did today was start holing a few putts.”

“I played good golf today. I gave myself a lot of chances.”

“I’m going to rue a couple of chances out there on the golf course, 13, 16, where I felt I had opportunities to add to my under-par tally.”

White Dragon Golf

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

