Women’s British Open. Course Record for Michelle.

White Dragon Golf

Michelle Wie shoots a new course record 64 on the Kingsbarns Links course in Scotland, to lead the Women’s British Open after round one.

Women's British Open

Michelle Wie / getty

Michelle, from the USA, was very conservatively dressed in the fair morning conditions, and carded a new record low round of -8 under 64, which included one bogey to lead the Women’s British Open by one shot;

 “It was a lot of fun! It was absolutely gorgeous today.”

“I think Kingsbarns is definitely one of the most scenic golf courses I’ve ever played.”

“I made it a point to come to the Aberdeen Asset Management Ladies Scottish Open last week and I really feel like that helped me a lot, because it’s so different.”

“I’m really proud of myself how I took advantage of conditions this morning.” 

In Kyung Kim, South Korea, holds second place, one shot back at -7 under par after her opening round of 65, also getting round before the weather delay struck;

“After six holes, five birdies, I’m like this is pretty awesome.”

“But I try to not get ahead of myself, and focus on one shot at a time.”

“The view is amazing, so I was just watching the view and try to focus on my game. But I was very lucky today with the weather.” 

Lindy Duncan, USA. was another shot back at -6 under, and 66 for her first round.

Mel Reid is the top British player, in a tie for fourth place at -5 under par, she enjoyed the calm conditions with her round of 67;

“You’re not going to get Kingsbarns much tamer than that, so it was important to take advantage of that this morning.”

 “I’ve hit one bad putt all day, which was on 16, I just looked up a little early, which I tend to do.”

“But yeah, I felt me and Kev have done a lot of good work the last few days, and I’ve felt like I’ve been striking it really well and been rolling my putts well.”

White Dragon Golf

Get in the Hole

 

Leave a Reply

