Women’s British Open. In-Kyung Kim Leads.

White Dragon Golf

In-Kyung Kim, of South Korea, leads the Women’s British Open, in the pouring rain at Kingsbarns Links in Scotland and be on top at the half-way stage.

Women's British Open

I.K. Kim / getty

I.K. was -4 under 68 today, to top the Women’s British Open leaderboard at -11 under par, she said making putts and playing well through the rain kept her focused;

“I really didn’t know what I was shooting.”

“I just wanted to play in my own time, because it was really hard, especially on the last three or four holes when it was pouring down.”

“I just had to move forward.”

“I’ve been hitting the ball very well and then starting to make some putts.”

“That’s when I shoot low scores.” 

“I think after that eagle putt I made, the weather turned around and I had to get in kind of safely. “

“It was dangerous I think, but I feel fortunate to be able to manage it today to be honest.”

Georgia Hall, England, -5 under 67 today, and Lexi Thompson, USA, with -4 under 68, share second place, two shots back at -9 under par for the tournament.

Lexi described her play today;

“I ball-striked it out there.”

“I actually hit it the same throughout both nines.”

“I just left myself with 30-40 feet on my two bogeys and three-putted them.”

“I hit great shots. Going in, they were going right at the flag, but they both got bounces that went sideways.”

“Then I didn’t make the second putt. But I hit it great the whole day and just got on a roll there on the back.”

Georgia is playing and putting well;

“I’ve never had four birdies in a row before, so I was very happy to be four-under after five.”

“I’m playing really well, I’m especially putting good. That is certainly helping me at the moment.”

Yesterday’s record breaking leader Michelle Wie crashed today, returning a scorecard of +4 over par 76, dropping her to -4 under and T21.

Leave a Reply

