W.G.C. Bridgestone Invitational. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon GolfWGC-Bridgestone Invitational

There are two players tied at the top of the Bridgestone Invitational leaderboard, Zach Johnson and Thomas Pieters, at Firestone Country Club.

Bridgestone Invitational

Rory & Zach were partners today

 

Zach, USA, -5 under 65 and Thomas, Belgium, are tied at the top of the Bridgestone Invitational leaderboard at -9 under par.

Thomas started well, finding fairways and making putts;

“The first eight holes I was in the fairway, hit good shots, made putts and the last 11 was a struggle.”

“I just was out of position every hole. Tomorrow I’ve just got to figure out a way to hit fairways, that’s it.”

“My bad golf is getting better. That’s always good, that’s why you practice.”

“I struck the ball really well with the irons, ball striking’s been really good.”

“Off the tee not so good but I think I’m missing it in the spots I can miss it in. All in all, not too bad.

“You just want to be in contention on Sunday afternoon, that’s it.”

Scott Hend, Australia, had the round of the day, -7 under 63, to get to -8 under for the tournament, and third place on his own.

Scott suddenly started holing putts;

“I holed some putts today. I’ve been scrambling well all week anyway, managed to hit a few more fairways and actually holed some putts, so that was the big difference.”

Hideki Matsuyama, Japan, is in fourth position on his own at -7 under par, with his -3 under 67 today.

Rory McIlroy, Northern Ireland, a disappointing -2 under 68 today, Adam Hadwin, Canada, -3 under 67, and Charley Hoffman, USA, -3 under 67, share fifth spot at -6 under par.

Rory felt like he left a few shots out there, wonderful driving, followed by poor approach shots, from 100 to 70 yards out;

” Left a few out there but only three behind going into tomorrow .”

“I felt like I could have got a lot more out of it.”

“I think if I would have walked off today with a 65 or a 66, I would have felt that was a fair reflection of how I played.”

” I can get off to a fast start and try and put a bit of pressure on the guys up ahead of me.”

Leave a Reply

