Women’s British Open. I.K. Claims 1st Major Title.

White Dragon Golf

I.K. Kim claims her 1st Major title with a win here at the Women’s British Open at Kingsbarns Links in Scotland.

Women's British Open

I.K. and Trophy / getty

I.K. cruised to her first Major win, with a final round -1 under 71 in the Women’s British Open, to  claim the crown with a -18 under par total, and a two-stroke winning margin;

“I feel quite uplifted, I have to say because I really didn’t expect to win this week.”

“And having the lead and then going into the last round, was a great task.”

“I think I managed it quite well.”

Jodi Ewart Shadoff, England, was in second place, she roared up the leaderboard with a bogey free final round -8 under par 64, to post a clubhouse total of -16 under par, and put some pressure on the leader.

Jodi said great putting was the key for her amazing round

“I didn’t think starting the day that I would have a shot. IK was way ahead, and I just started out really strong.”

“Holed a great putt on the first hole, which I think set the tone for the day, for par, and then just my putting was really on fire.”

“I had a great stretch in the middle of the round to get me going. I just saw myself at the start of the round just take the opportunities when I get them and that’s what I did.

“I think this week, the key was putting. I just holed a lot of putts and I’m feeling really confident.”

Sharing third place at -13 under par were Georgia Hall, England, with a final round -2 under 70, Michelle Wie, USA, -6 under 66, and Caroline Masson, Germany. -5 under 67 today.

Georgia did her best in the terrible conditions;

 “I’m very happy really. Tied third is more than kind of what I expected.”

“I kind of think 16 and 17 yesterday killed me for the chances of winning it. But I tried my best today.”

“The weather was terrible.”

White Dragon Golf

Leave a Reply

