US PGA Championship. Thorbjørn Olesen and Kevin Kisner Tied at the Top

White Dragon Golf     Quail Hollow

Thorbjørn Olesen, Denmark, and Kevin Kisner, USA are  tied at the top of the  US PGA Championship leaderboard at Quail Hollow.

US PGA Championship

Thorbjørn Olesen and Kevin Kisner / getty

Thorbjørn and Kevin had matching opening rounds of -4 under par 67 to top the US PGA Championship leaderboard by one shot.

Thorbjørn just needs to stay relaxed, and feels he can win;

“I’ve had a couple of top tens in Majors, I’ve had some good rounds in Majors and I feel like I’ve learned a lot over the years playing quite a few Majors now.”

” I just have to stay relaxed the next few days, still trying to keep the ball in the fairway and then I know I can hit it close and make some birdies.”

“I feel like I’m better prepared to be in contention over the weekend and have a chance to win.”

Kevin was concentrating on making par;

“I felt confident, I was hitting the driver nice starting out.”

“There’s about four or five holes that I have to birdie to compete and I birdied them all today so that’s kind of been my game plan.”

“Other than that, I’m playing for par.”

Five USA players are that one shot back at -3 under, after their first rounds of 68; Brooks Koepka, Grayson Murray, Gary Woodland, Chris Stroud and DA Points.

Brooks spoke about the new fast greens at Quail Hollow;

“These greens are the fastest greens I’ve ever played, and the thing is, they’re only going to get faster and firmer.”

 Rory McIlroy +1 over 72 today to be T33 also mentioned the greens;

“The greens are as firm as I’ve ever seen at a PGA Championship.”

“Birdied the par fives, birdied the holes that you should birdie. I’m only five behind, four under is the best score out there.”

“It’s a tough golf course. I shoot something in the sixties tomorrow, I move right up there. So yeah, I’m in it.”

White Dragon Golf

 

Leave a Reply

