US PGA Championship. Hideki & Kevin Share Lead.

White Dragon Golf    Quail Hollow

Hideki Matsuyama and Kevin Kisner share the US PGA Championship lead after two rounds at Quail Hollow.

US PGA Championship

Hideki Matsuyama / getty

Hideki, Japan, shot an interrupted second round -7 under par 64 at the US PGA Championship, pausing in the middle for 1 hr 45 mins for a weather delay, to catch Kevin, -4 under 67  at the top of the leaderboard at -8 under par. The second round was unable to be completed due to darkness falling.

Hideki welcomed the delay, saying he was tired, his poor play with his driver was the culprit, but his putter cheered him up,  needing just 23 putts Friday,

“I was grateful for the rain delay because I was getting tired, I was able to lay down in the locker room and get some rest.”

“I think what was making me tired was I wasn’t hitting my driver like I wanted to, I was hitting fairways but I wasn’t getting the crisp contact that I was hoping for with my driver.”

“Twenty-three putts just means I missed a lot of greens.”

“The greens here at Quail Hollow, as you know, are really fast.”

“And there’s a lot of putts that honestly, I’m not trying to make. I’m just trying to get it up near the hole, and a lot of them are going in.”

Kevin, USA, is playing well, and likes his chance to win here;

 “Any time I can get a wedge in my hand or a par five that I can reach, I feel like I have to make birdie.”

“If I can get a six or seven iron in my hand,” I like my chances around here.”

“Those are the holes here that are allowing me to have that opportunity.”  

“I’m just excited about the opportunity, I’m really fired up about the way I’m hitting the golf ball.”

“I haven’t hit it this well this whole summer, a lot of average finishes. When I start hitting it the way I am now, I play well.”

Jason Day, Australia, is in third place,  at -6 under par after his second round -5 under par 66, a bit more like his old self;

 “It felt like the old days, which was only last year. It feels like 10 years ago.”

“I’m improving each and every day now, and actually I’m hungry again and I’m looking forward to trying to beat these guys here in a bit.”

“But I’m very motivated right now. Like I want to win again. So I’m excited about that.”

Tied in fourth position at -4 under are Francesco Molinari, Italy, also carding -7 under 64 today, Louis Oosthuizen, South Africa, -4 under 67, and Chris Stroud, USA, who is at -2 under today through 13 holes.

The next group is back at -3 under, and will need something special on moving day if they want to contend on Sunday.

White Dragon Golf

 

 

Leave a Reply

