Paul Lawrie Match Play. Adrian Beats Marcel.

White Dragon Golf

Adrian Otaegui, Spain, beats home favorite from Germany Marcel Siem to claim his maiden European Tour win, the Paul Lawrie Match Play title at the Beckenbauer Course.

 

Paul Lawrie Match Play

Adrian Otaegui / getty

Adrian came from behind to win his Maiden Tour title, the  Paul Lawrie Match Play

“It’s very, very special to have my first European Tour victory here at the Paul Lawrie. I’m so happy.”

 “The way I played the back nine being three down after nine holes, I played good golf.”

“Obviously Marcel missed a couple of shots but I was very, very focused, I knew I could do it and the way I finished was just the perfect finish to the week.”

“I’ve been playing very well the whole week. I’ve made a few mistakes as everybody does. I was very solid the whole week and I ended up with the trophy.”

“It’s a big combination of things, getting some confidence, knowing I can do it well.”

Marcel was three up at the turn and two up with five holes to play, but lost 2 & 1, losing his putting touch;

“I was totally in control. I just had to keep on making birdies and pars. He didn’t make any mistakes all day but I was pretty strong.”

” My back-swing on my putting got shorter and shorter and I couldn’t get the ball to the hole.”

“I’m really upset, it’s disappointing, it was right there on a silver plate for me today.”

Johan Carlsson, Sweden  beat Alejandro Cañizares, Spain,  3 & 2 in the 3rd/4th play-off match as he made three eagles.

 

white dragon golf  White Dragon Golf

Leave a Reply

